On The Road To Statehood – Celebrating 175 Years – 1833.

The Black Hawk Purchase of 1832 secured land up and down the Mississippi River. On June 28, 1834, Congress put this new Iowa territory under the care of Michigan Territory; and in September of that same year the land was divided into two counties – Dubuque and Demoine. Both of these counties had one township each—Julien Township in Dubuque County and Flint Hill Township in Demoine County. It is believed that these two townships were the very first local government divisions west of the Mississippi River.

1833 Burlington was established, like its sister-city, Dubuque to the north, on the western shores of the Mississippi River in 1833, immediately following the Black Hawk Purchase of 1832. Prior to European settlement, the area was territory belonging to the Meshwakis (Sauk and Fox tribes), who called it Shoquoquon (Shok-ko-kon), meaning Flint Hills.


Click here to visit our 175th Statehood Anniversary page…

Did you know? is an Our Iowa Heritage blog series that offers you a little bit of Iowa trivia from a large selection of stories on our website. Subscribe to this FREE blog and you’ll get a new email from us every Monday – Wednesday – Friday.

Join us for Our Iowa Heritage blog posts.

Learn some historical facts about Iowa City, Johnson County, or Eastern Iowa.

Amaze your friends.

Click to learn more.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s