In 1951.

The Iowa Award – 1951 – 2018 – Twenty-Five Honored Iowans.

As a result of the 1946 Iowa Centennial Celebration, a new award, called The Iowa Award, was developed. The plan was to celebrate every five years or so by honoring one significant Iowan, giving them this award – our state’s highest honor. President Hoover won the first award (1951) and his friend, Ding Darling, won the second (1955).


Did you know? is an Our Iowa Heritage blog series that offers you a little bit of Iowa trivia from a large selection of stories on our website. Subscribe to this FREE blog and you’ll get a new email from us every Monday – Wednesday – Friday.

Join us for Our Iowa Heritage blog posts.

Learn some historical facts about Iowa City, Johnson County, or Eastern Iowa.

Amaze your friends.

Click to learn more.

1 thought on “In 1951.

  1. Hi Sandy & Marty, I enjoyed your post today and thought an update might be in order. I’ve not heard back from the mayor but know he is under pressure right now with the mask mandate, so will wait awhile before I resend a request for a visit. Hope you both are taking caution when needing to get out. See you soon. Marybeth


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s